Reading Group Circles Featured Selection

 July, 2014

Find Flight of the Sparrow on:

Flight of the Sparrow

On a bitter winter morning in 1676, the Puritan minister's wife, Mary Rowlandson, is captured by Indians.  Her home destroyed and her children lost to her,  she becomes a pawn in the bloody struggle between English settlers and the indigenous people.  Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, she witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness.  To her own surprise, she is drawn to her captors' straightforward way of life, and when the opportunity comes to be ransomed back to the English, she begins to wonder if she will ever fit into colonial society again.
Praise for Flight of the Sparrow
"Flight of the Sparrow is a fresh, engaging chronicle of the human heart that breathes life into a vital but oft-neglected chapter of our history. Amy Belding Brown has turned an authentic drama of Indian captivity into a compelling, emotionally gripping tale that is at once wrenching and soulful."   --Eliot Pattison, author of the Mystery of Colonial America series

​​"Brown's voice transforms a remote period into a fresh and immediate world and, in Mary, gives us a heroine who is broken by sorrow but determined to survive. This is a novel about the true meaning of faith and freedom."   -- Kelly O'Connor McNees, author of The Island of Doves and The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott


“The story of Mary Rowlandson is the story of one of the darkest episodes in our nation’s history, and yet Amy Belding Brown manages to turn it into a soaring tale of light and hope.  In telling her story of a courageous woman’s search for freedom, independence, identity, and love, Amy Belding Brown never strikes a false note, never lets us down by snatching us out of time and place. While keeping faith with existing historical fact she fills in the gaps with the delicate strokes of her art, transforming historical figures into living beings, vividly resurrecting long-lost ways of native and colonial life. The Flight of the Sparrow reminds us of the promise of America and that the fulfillment of that promise relies on every human heart.”  – Sally Cabot Gunning is the author of Benjamin Franklin’s Bastard, The Widow’s War, Bound, and The Rebellion of Jane Clarke.

​​Amy Belding Brown